CONFESSIONS

1. I’m an addict. I am addicted to my camera, my computer, my cell phone, my home phone. I used to be addicted to my iPod. But it died. And I refuse to replace it. Yet. I don’t have a blackberry but I salivate whenever I see one. I also have a great need to be in relationship. Which explains my other addictions. And the reason I can live without my iPod. I wish my addictions were simple and cheap, like alcohol or tabacco, but they aren’t. My addictions are high-tech and expensive. (however, they don’t endanger my health, and actually aid in fostering good relationships).

2. I’m a clutz. I bump into things, I have HUGE bruises on my legs, and neither my husband nor my children abuse me. I should not drive when I have PMS. I should not walk on sidewalks, streets, anything with curbs. Running is ok, because I just follow Rick. Every counter top in my house has made contact with my hip bones and left a bruise. I should not use sharp instuments, like scissors and knives, which is good that I’m not a surgeon. I probably shouldn’t try pruning bushes and trees. I think twice before slicing tomatoes.

(Oh, but my austrailian shepherd Maggie does herd me, and that PROBABLY explains this:

She does “drive by herding” where she runs past so fast and nips my heels and calves I don’t even notice until days later when at work I’m wearing a really cute pair of cropped pants and someone gasps, and yells, “oh my goodness (or something like that) WHAT HAPPENED????” and points to my calf. Seriously, had no idea those bruises were there. Until now. And I’m pretty sure Maggie is the only explanation that makes sense.)

3. I hate politics.
I know.
It’s so not cool right now. But try, try as I might….I cannot get into it.
I’m not inspired by any candidate. My stomach turns every time I see political headlines, cartoons, news briefs…I simply don’t believe anything any one of them says. Every once in a while Rick calls me in to hear a speech, debate, whatever…and I try, I really really try to feel inspired, to believe what I’m hearing. Maybe it’s all the movies I’ve seen, or too much West Wing, but I can’t help but wonder what the spin is, and who’s behind it.

4. I miss the old hymns of the faith:

One a hill far away, stood an Old Rugged Cross, the emblem of suffering and shame;

I love to tell the Story, twill be my theme in glory, to tell the old old story, of Jesus and his love;

Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart, Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art…

Softly and Tenderly Jesus is calling, calling for you and for me. See from the portals He’s waiting and watching…watching for you and for my. Come home. Come home. Ye who are weary come home….

I love that God never changes. That his Word is always the same. We can write new songs, we can revive the old hymns, but either way, God is God is God. He is truth and He tells the truth. There is no spin. He doesn’t have a secret agenda and He can’t be bought by ours. He longs for relationship with us and he makes every first move. Every time. And we humans continue to try to meet our need and our addictions with those things that are temporary and which do not satisfy.

Rock of Ages, Cleft for me, let me hide myself in Thee.

Leave a Reply

