My Mom


This is my mom and dad at Caleb and Hannah’s wedding last year. My mom LOVES to dance. She always has. My dad dances to make her happy.

On Monday my mom is having open heart surgery. We’ve know for about a week that this was going to happen, but we didn’t know a date until yesterday. And until yesterday I was able to remove myself from the reality of it. And I could say to myself that these procedures are now so routine and about every 4th person I pass on the street has had it, or is related to someone who has had it, (actually, I just made that up. I really have no idea how many people or what the statistics are of people who’ve had open heart surgery, but I think it’s a lot.) and they do just fine. But this is MY mom. The person who’s known me longer than anyone else. The person with whom I’ve done this crazy mother-daughter dance of life where we must drive each other nuts, but we’re so connected and so permanently in each other’s lives that neither of us would be who we are today without the other. This is MY mom who’s chest will be opened up and the skilled surgeon will repair her damaged aortic valve. My mom who’s body has fought for life and health since she was born 14 weeks premature, along with her twin sister.

And since the moment Dad called yesterday to tell us that Monday is the day, I’ve been walking around with a lump in my throat that just won’t go away. I know she’ll be fine. I know she’ll go on the cruise they already have booked in the fall, and she’ll come to Bellingham again for another celebration of some sort or another, Christmas, a wedding, a graduation party…

But on Monday, those of you who read my blog, please pray for mom.

4 thoughts on “My Mom

  1. Hey Linda, we want you to know we will pray for your mom…and for you. Sometimes these things are way harder on the families then they ever were on the patient. God Bless, Bill

Leave a Reply

