Thanksgiving Post, #2

I had just finished writing my last post, and I had labored over it.  I know, you can’t tell.  I kept tring to write what I was thankful for today, and it all just came out so sappy and mushy and ridiculous, and I kept deleting everything and ended up going for funny, which it wasn’t all that.  I think I write better at night.  I’m not a morning person.

I went upstairs to make Rick his americano and he noticed a text message on his phone.  It was from a guy Rick had hired a few years ago at the door and trim shop he managed.  Rick found this guy at a halfway house where he was living after having been in prison for a very very long time.  Rick liked to hire these guys for a couple of reasons.  1.  He loves giving second chances.  It comes natural to him as someone who follows Christ.  2.  These guys were always his hardest workers.

Rick took care of his guys at that company, like a father.  He loved them and cared about what they were going through, both on the job and at home.  Sometimes he would come home and tell me he didn’t have any cash left because he “loaned” it to so and so to fill his tank so he could come back to work tomorrow.  When he left that company the hardest thing for him was not having his guys around him.

So, he wakes up this morning to this text message from the this guy, probably the one he loves the most, the one from the halfway house, who’d been in prison for so many years:

“Good morning.  Every day of my new life, I’m thankful for my friends and family who have helped me to achieve the goals I have set for myself.  I wouldn’t have been able to do it without you.  My heart is with you this day and every day.  Enjoy & love ya!

So, ok, there are dozens of things and people I’m thankful for, all the obvious, my family and friends, my kids, Rick’s new job, lower gas prices.  These all go without saying.

But what really strikes me is how thankful I am and how lucky I am to be married to Rick.  He is a “man among men”.  This is a person who LOVES to build men.  He loves to build men out of boys and better men out of ordinary men.  He loves to find the guy down on his luck and breathe value into him.  He is strong and protective and would do battle for his family.  He stands on truth and doesn’t waver.  He is a loyal and faithful husband and father.  He is a loyal and faithful friend.   In all his strength he is not afraid to show emotion and dotes on his girls.  His heart is tender and loving toward his children.  So, all humor aside, I am most thankful today for the companion God has blessed me  to walk through this life with.

Now, Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

