Announcing: (bragging rights)

I just finished a wonderful dinner with Rick.  We BBQ’d steak and sweet potatos, and had a fun conversation with my parents on speaker phone  while we cooked dinner.  We cleaned up the kitchen together and then, per our normal routine, came downstairs where Rick turns on the TV and I hop online, check email, facebook, check for comments on my blog…and what do I find???

PERMISSION!!!

Hannah has given me the go ahead to B-R-A-G about becoming a G-R-A-N-D-M-A!!  (I know…I don’t look NEAR old enough, and neither does Cindy, Hannah’s mom, but truth be told, we will both be Grandmas in the fall.   I actually have had a card in the glove box of my car for Cindy for the last 2 months that says, “Hip, Hip, Hooray!  Let the Bragging Begin!”  (I’m such a procrastinator, I STILL haven’t dropped it off, Cindy, but I’ll ask Rick to drop it by this week.)

Here are the first pictures of “our little peanut”:  (disclaimer: I did not take these pictures)

Caleb and Hannah's baby, sucking it's thumb
Caleb and Hannah's baby, sucking it's thumb
Caleb and Hannah's baby jumping!!
Caleb and Hannah's baby jumping!!

These ultra-sound images were taken last week at 12 and 1/2 weeks.  SUCKING IT’S THUMB!

I’m pretty sure…this is the most advanced baby ever.  For sure the cutest, and probably the smartest–I mean, really, look at the Mommy!  And Caleb’s no slacker either!

Hannah just recently started  a blog, I have it linked to the right here on mine.  Feel free to follow hers and save me the embarrassment of being the typical bragging Grandma!!

Yeah, right, like THAT would stop me!

We have several friends who are just a wee bit older than us who have reached this Grandparenting stage a few years ahead of us, and believe me, we have been taking notes!  My friend Bill Wertz says, “Grandchildren are God’s reward to us for not killing our own children!”.  I don’t know if that’s original with Bill, or if it’s a famous quote, but he’s the first person I ever heard it from, and it sounds so vintage BILL, that I’m giving him the credit.

From people like Bill and Tracey, Dick and Sara, Jim and Jan, we know we are to spoil the grandkids without breaking the parent’s rules.  We are to love, kiss, hug, cuddle;  Crawl around on the floor,  make ridiculous baby gurgley noises, build forts, play peek-a-boo, sing lullabyes, read fairy tales, knit knit knit, and get on our knees and pray for a person we haven’t yet met, but love almost as much as his or her mommy and daddy do.

Of one thing I have no doubt:  Caleb and Hannah will be great parents, and if anyone should be raising children, They should.

Kids, we love you and are so proud of you, and you know, that no matter what, whatever time of day or night, we are here for you and your family.

7 thoughts on “Announcing: (bragging rights)

  1. yea we can finally facebook about it in the open!!! Can’t wait to follow along with you on this most awesome Journey!!!
    Grandma Linda and Grandpa Rick sounds sooooo good
    love you guys!

  2. the one thing I am certain of…you guys will be great grandparents. Congrats for getting your kids out of the house alive. Job well done…this glass of wine is to you. Love ya Bill

  3. Just so you know, I’m so stinkin’ excited for you! See, I’ve been giving you guys my kids to practice on and now you’re so ready you get your own grandbabies! BTW, the comment about the grandkids was one they have actually stolen from ME and are now taking full credit for. But they’re such awesome grandparents, I’ll let them take the credit! 🙂 Love to you guys and bunches of congratulations.

  4. Congrats! Now you and my dad will have to enjoy the grandparent thing together! Can’t wait to see the little one–are they goin to find out the sex?? We would still love to get together with you guys someday, pray that we can move back and then we probably could:)

Leave a Reply

