That Was Intense!

So, two weeks ago I took photos for my brother’s wedding.  I have spent every waking hour that I’m not at work editing photos and getting them ready for Tim and Anna.  I was a little over the top obsessed with them.  But, see, I’m a little over the top obsessed with every picture I take, I’ve just never taken over 1400 of them at one event!  So, I know the wedding wasn’t about me, and that it was about the bride and groom, and yada yada yada…but the truth is, I was SCARED TO DEATH to look at my pictures, to edit them, and to share them with anyone, because frankly, although I know I hide it well in person, I’m extremely insecure about my photography at this point.  So, although I was moved to tears many times through the day watching Tim and Anna, I was still a teensy bit self-absorbed, worrying that I wasn’t doing it good enough.  And truly, the few hundred pictures I deleted will testify to that fact.  But there were a couple hundred others that were decent, and then a small handful that I actually love and feel so proud of and happy that it was me that Tim and Anna asked to do this.  So, see?  It’s about them, but somehow I made this whole paragraph about me.  I know, it’s a gift.  And proof that I have made it through the last two weeks pouring over these pictures and stressing over them, and have come out with my sense of humor still in tact.

The day of the wedding, right after the ceremony, I hugged Rick and holding back tears, I whispered, “I am never doing another wedding, ever again.”  On the way home from Pullman I was making a list of what I’ll need for the next wedding and what I’ll do different.  (don’t worry, Tim and Anna, that wasn’t about you guys at all, you were wonderful, I was just so hard on myself)

All of that to say, here are my favorites from the day:

Anna and her mom Linda
Anna and her mom Linda
Anna and her sister Bethany
Anna and her sister Bethany
Anna and her bridesmaids approaching the Groom and groomsen
Anna and her bridesmaids approaching the Groom and groomsen
So sweet.
So sweet.

IMG_8888-1

The flower girl didn't want to ruin her pretty shoes
The flower girl didn't want to ruin her pretty shoes

Just pronouned Man and Wife
Just pronouned Man and Wife

I love this picture, not because it’s a great photograph, it’s one of the worst, but I love the look on Tim’s face. I can still see the little boy that I remember, so happy and excited he can hardly contain himself.

IMG_9466-1

IMG_9515-1

First Dance
First Dance

The bride and groom taking a break
The bride and groom taking a break

I love this one. It says to me, “we’re in this together, just you and I, but all of our people are close by when we need them”.

IMG_9576-1

My handsome brother
My handsome brother

IMG_9888 copy

Toasting the new couple (mom is front and center)
Toasting the new couple (mom is front and center)
The Matchmaker!
The Matchmaker!
Have you seen a happier couple?
Have you seen a happier couple?
Saying Goodbye
Saying Goodbye
3 thoughts on “That Was Intense!

  1. I am only getting to know you so I cannot be expected to speak to the heart of anything, except – you are obsessed, about many things. But one thing is certain, your photography is something to be proud of. You have no reason to worry about your wedding work being good – it is excellant. One advantage you had was your knowledge of and love for the subject matter. But the other advantage is your pursuit of excellancy.
    Keep up the good work.

    Joel and MaryAnn

  2. Linda, I love the one of Anna and “her sister”, too! Really neat! Of course , I loved them all. Definitely agree that you caught a very good shot of “your handsome brother”. Also love the happiness that is beaming on the newlyweds’ faces and on all the onlookers & throwers of petals as they head down the path to their honeymoon car 🙂

    Thank you, so much, for taking the photograph-heirlooms for these two! It meant SOOO MUCH to Anna to have NICE pictures taken, and when she thought that it wasn’t going to take place at one point, she was “mildly” devastated!

    You probably heard that they had (what I’m calling “The Movie Star Shot”) made into a large wall photo in their dining room — the one during the toasts where Anna is looking up into the sky — right now I can’t exactly remember what Tim was doing, except looking “Movie-Star Stunning”!!

    Thanks again; you made all the difference for all of us who now get to reminisce over the many wonderful moments.

    Love, Linda

Leave a Reply

