Ladie’s Night

Last night I had a couple friends over for appetizers and drinks, all under the guise of teaching them to make kombucha tea, and then sending them home, each with their own scoby to start their own brew (thanks to my Dad who mailed me 10 scobys last week).

I spent the whole day getting ready, cleaning house, buying groceries, printing out instructions on kombucha brewing, making these unbelievable Jalepeno’ Poppers, and can I just say, please never let me make those again!? They are in the Pioneer Woman’s cookbook, and if you own it, please do not make these. Do not ever make these. They are fattening. They are addictive. They have bacon. Ok, you’ve been warned, but if you DO make them, please use Trader Joes BBQ sauce. That’s all I’m going to say on the matter.

I bought 2 bouquets of flowers, one a mixed bouquet of pinks and greens and the other, the most beautiful dainty little apricot colored tea roses. I bought both for 2 reasons.
1. I couldn’t decide.
2. Because Trader Joe’s prices make me think that my life won’t quite be the same if I don’t.

We sat on the deck and I lit one of my wine barrel tea lights, and then I pulled out all stops.

I used cloth napkins.

Bliss and Jo immediately headed for the door thinking they were in the wrong house! They’ve eaten in my home enough to know I don’t buy napkins and I Do Not Use Cloth Napkins. They know we are strictly a Paper Towel Household, and they know where to find them. In fact they both had one in their hand when they spotted the cloth napkins.

I made These, only with blackberries, and they weren’t nearly this pretty, but boy did they taste good.

We listened to Norah Jones on the ipod while we ate and chatted and stayed on the deck as long as it stayed light and warm enough.

We laughed.

A lot.

And finally, when it was getting dark and chilly we came inside and we bottled my kombucha and brewed a new batch and they all went home to start their own.

I know you are wondering why I haven’t posted the pictures from last night. As much as it pains me to say, I never touched my camera. The whole evening. Even when I pointed at the mason jar the roses were in and said, “look how the sun is coming through that jar”, and when all the dishes were lined up on the island counter and looked amazing, and the lovely Blackberry Mojitos were on the table, I never once thought to touch my camera.

And since I really hate to write a blog post without photos, here are a couple from an early morning walk before work last week.
IMG_7133_0079
IMG_7127_0073 copy
IMG_7130_0076
IMG_7108_0054

Now, if you’ll excuse me, Abbie and Joey are coming for dinner and I have to make Jalepeno Poppers.

3 thoughts on “Ladie’s Night

  1. Sounds like a great evening! It also sounds like you need some paper towel reformation. 🙂 I “swore off” paper towels last year… and went to a basket on my counter next to my sink, filled with cloth towels. BUT… I’ve backslidden, and got some PT’s for those greasy, icky jobs. Please don’t tell anyone. 🙂 Love the pics!

  2. I had such a wonderful night. I have had a lot of sadness this last week and your wonderful evening of laughter, beauty and joy gave me a much needed “life preserver” in my time of grief.

Leave a Reply

