A Friend Loves At All Times…Proverbs 17:17

I have a friend who’s heart is broken. Broken right in two. And I so desperately want to say the right thing and do the right thing and be the right thing to encourage her and bring her hope, but I feel so helpless.

So, I’ve been thinking a lot this week about friendship. About what makes a good friend, and what kind of friend I am to those I love. Sometimes I really suck as a friend because I’m so self-centered, and rarely desire to change that about myself. See? I just said “I”, “I’m”, and “myself” in one sentence in a blog post about being a friend to someone ELSE!

I’m remembering a time a few years ago when Rick and I had broken hearts, and we turned to our closest people. I don’t remember specific words that were spoken to us, but I do know that the things that brought comfort and strength to us then, were not pat answers or cliches. What we needed were words that directed our hearts to God, and reminded us that He was bigger than what we were going through. And because we couldn’t ‘feel’ what was true at the time we needed to be reminded by those who knew Him that He is faithful and true and unchanging. When your heart is broken you need someone to tell you that God sees you, that He knows you, and that He cares.

When your heart is broken, you need someone who’s heart will break for you, but who can still see through the tears and offer hope for a future. A future that includes joy and laughter again.

On Steven Curtis Chapman’s newest album, Beauty will Rise (a whole album about broken hearts) the title song says,

“…Out of these ashes… beauty will rise
and we will dance among the ruins
We will see Him with our own eyes
Out of these ashes… beauty will rise
For we know, joy is coming in the morning…
in the morning, beauty will rise

So take another breath for now,
and let the tears come washing down,
and if you can’t believe I will believe
for you.

(italics, mine)

THAT’s what I want to say to my friend who’s world feels like it’s been broken in two:

“and if you can’t believe, I will believe for you.”

For the Lord is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations.
Ps 100:5

3 thoughts on “A Friend Loves At All Times…Proverbs 17:17

  1. I am certain these words will bring encouragement. They brought encouragement to me, as I had a little torn heart with a friend today.

    Hold her up – both physically and spiritually. God has placed you in her life for just this moment. Praising Him that she has a friend like you, that cares for her this much.

  2. Very well said Linda – – I love your honesty. But, I do know that sometimes nothing at all needs to be said. Just knowing that I had a friend that would just sit there and offer nothing more than their presence, was comfort. How many times has God done that for us. . . just sat their, offered His presence until we were able and ready for the next step.

Leave a Reply

