Father’s Day Post #4

My Dad:

The father of 5 children, the husband of one wife of 54 years, full-time college student at the age of almost 76 years.  That’s my Dad.

family photo

It’s Father’s Day and I saved the post about my Dad for last.

I’ve been thinking all week about what to write about my Dad.  And it’s not coming easily.  Even photos aren’t coming easily.  I have scads of pictures of Dad alone with all the other kids, but only a couple of just Dad and I, and the ones I have I just love.  I can’t stop looking at them.

Middle Child Syndrome.

Image025.jpg

Most of my childhood memories include my father.  He worked long and hard to provide for his family, but when he wasn’t working, he was home.  He took us to church, he took us camping, he took us to Grandma’s; he built us a playhouse, and put in a patio for our summer breakfasts, lunches, and dinners.  He bought us fireworks in July, Pumpkins in October, and cut down a tree in December.

My Dad can tell a story and keep you riveted, and when he gets to laughing, you feel as if nothing bad could ever happen in your whole life.

Image166.jpg

Dad is smart and funny and has more interests than he has time for.  Together with my Mom he is the most hospitable person I’ve ever known, putting up complete strangers in distress for nights at a time.  There’s always room for one more, and always enough food for an unexpected guest.

The older he gets the younger he seems.  At almost 76 years old, Dad is on facebook, he texts, he skypes.   He inspires me to live a life of continual learning, as over the years I’ve watched him take sailing lessons, navigation courses, classical guitar, and now as a full-fledged college student working toward his Associates in Business degree.

My Dad is one of my best friends.

I am who I am because of who he is.

He is the rock in our family, and I think we’d all be lost without him.

So, Daddy, happy Father’s Day.  I love you.

3 thoughts on “Father’s Day Post #4

Leave a Reply

