If Only

I’ve been away for a few days. Mentally.
Here’s the rundown:

Two weeks ago I had an asthma flare-up. Took a good week and a half to get it under control, but I seem to be breathing perfectly now.

Four days ago I had a minor little fender-bender. No injuries, minor damage to a front headlight, Rick will fix it. But it totally undid me. I replayed the accident over and over in my head, I thought things like, if only I had left that store 2 minutes sooner, or 2 minutes later…I realize those kind of head games get us nowhere, so I’ve moved on. By Monday I was just feeling really down. Depressed. Blue. And last night I decided to let it go, let insurance take care of things, and really let it go this time.

I woke up this morning to unexpected sunshine and feeling great about life again, went about the business of getting ready for my day. But when I bent over to put my pants on…

…My low back seized up. I worked in chiropractic for 8 years. I’ve seen these patients walk in the door, bent over at the waist, holding their lowbacks, and saying “all I did was lift my coffee mug from the counter”, “all I did was pick up a sock off the floor”, “all I did was bend over to put my pants on”.

So, I’m laying here in bed on an icepack waiting for my chiropractor’s office to call me back.

If only I’d worn a dress today.

One thought on “If Only

  1. No wonder my Grandma never wore pants! She knew better! 🙂 Sorry to hear you are in such pain, Linda! Really.

Leave a Reply

