It Is Well With My Soul

On September 26, 2010 an young man went missing in Bellingham. He was 18 years old and from Auburn Washington. He graduated from high school last spring and came to Bellingham to attend Western Washington University. There has been an incredible outpouring of support and help from our little town to his family and friends who have been in Bellingham searching for him for the last week and a half.

As the hours stretched out into days and hopes of finding Dwight Clark alive began to dim, and the reward fund skyrocketed, I could feel myself as well as our whole community walking on eggshells. The unknown is so unbearable. I thought so many times through the week, if they could just find his body, we’ll all feel better, knowing, feeling at least, that the chances of finding him alive were now slim.

Today they found Dwight’s body in Bellngham Bay. Just down near where Georgia Pacific used to operate. And though I thought I– we, would feel better if they’d found this boy, and could give his mother closure, I close my eyes and picture it being Abbie, or Josh, or Caleb, or Hannah, and I simply do not feel better. I do not feel settled.

I just feel so sad. And so helpless.

And my heart goes out to this boys Mother and I breathe a prayer for her.

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

But, Lord, ’tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh, trump of the angel! Oh, voice of the Lord!
Blessed hope, blessed rest of my soul!

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

2 thoughts on “It Is Well With My Soul

  1. Oh… my heart just aches as well. I thought of and prayed for him so many times throughout this last while. Imagining, as you, if it were one of my own children. It is incomprehensible. Thank you for your beautiful tribute and prayer.

Leave a Reply

