Girl’s Weekend

This weekend two of my friends from elementary school drove 5 hours to Bellingham to spend 2 days with me.  They arrived a little before 10:00 on friday night and left around 2 in the afternoon on Sunday.

It was a non-stop gab-fest!  Friday night Rick kicked us downstairs so he could sleep and we talked until 2:30 in the morning.  Let me just say,

This. Is. Not. Me.

I don’t stay up past 10 or 11, and 11, ONLY if it’s the weekend.

Saturday Darcy and I had coffee while Laurie slept a little later (lucky) and I declared that Saturday’s bed time would be 11:30 at the latest.

uh huh.

That’s right.  I’m bad-ass.  (sorry Dad, I know you hate when I cuss).

The only thing is that my friend Carrie had the three of us to dinner at her house.  We arrived at 6:20.  The first time anyone asked what time is was, it was 11:30.  11:30.  11:30!!!!

The next time someone asked what time it was….well, it was 2:30.

IMG_0129a

IMG_0106a

IMG_0122

IMG_0116

I fell in bed beside Rick a little after 3:00 a.m.   He might have mumbled something like, “who are you and what have you done with my wife?”

IMG_0112
(this was the most amazing pumpkin dish I’ve ever had)

IMG_0102

I only give these silly mundane details to emphasize that this is way out of my norm.  I don’t stay up late, and I certainly don’t stay out late without my husband.  And I certainly don’t stay out late without my husband and drink enough wine that I feel I need to have someone else drive me home, and, no, I’m not saying that’s what happned.

But, this was a weekend to break out of the norm, get outside our boxes, try something new, and expand our horizons.  (Darcy and Laurie even tried my new favorite martini, vodka, cilantro, and serrano peppers.  They both said it was “interesting”.  I’m not offended, that leaves more for me.)

We talked about growing up in Boring, our friends and teachers at Pleasant Valley Grade School, classmates at Centennial High School, our kids, marriages, family, people we love, things we remember about each other, things we don’t remember about each other…

I took them around parts of bellingham, drove the waterfront, walked around Fairhaven, had lunch at Anthonies.  All that time I had my camera and never used it. At Carries I took a few pictures but forgot to do a group shot of all of us.

It’s ok, though. We had such a great weekend, and re-established our connection, and the pictures are seared in my memory.

One thought on “Girl’s Weekend

Leave a Reply

