BOOM!

Tonight I got a call from Josh.  He was in a grocery store.  And he wanted me to give him the ingredients to his favorite cookies.

That I make.

That I’ve ALWAYS made.

I asked why on earth he would want the ingredients.

He said, “Mom, I’m taking you out of the equation”

Ouch.

Ok, here’s the story.

When I was little, like probably 2nd grade, so, 7 or 8 years old, I had to do a project for BlueBirds.  I had to make a batch of cookies by myself with no help. BlueBirds  was the little girl version of Camp Fire Girls.  Cheryl was in Camp Fire Girls and I couldn’t wait to get that big. But in the meantime I LOVED Bluebirds. I don’t even know if they HAVE BlueBirds anymore, but when I was a bluebird, I LOVED it!!
Tate706-R1-E004-2.jpg
I don’t see anything in this outfit that says BlueBirds, but I know this was part of my “uniform”. I think there was a vest that we got to put our badges on.

For my project I made Mountain Bar cookies.  They were my favorite.  Some people call them no-bakes, because they are boiled, not baked.  Some people call them Mountain Bars, like I did growing up. When Josh was at camp as a Counselor In Training the summer of 2005 I sent a box of these cookies out to him.  He shared a cookie with one of the counselors and after the first bite, his friend yelled, “BOOM!  That’s the best cookie I’ve ever tasted!!!”  And, so, our favorite cookies are now always called Boom Cookies.

For much of my life I had the recipe memorized, but in recent years I’ve had to fall back on a little book my Grandma gave me for Christmas after I was married.  It was one of those Church Lady Cook Books.  All my friends from that time have the same book, or at least they used to.
IMG_0153

After we hung up the phone tonight I pulled out my old worn out cookbook and thumbed through until I found the recipe. But something else caught my eye. Something I hadn’t paid attention to in 27 years or so. Grandma’s inscription in the front of my book:
IMG_0154
How precious is this!? Such a simple little sentence, and yet my whole heritage and upbringing are wrapped up in that one little sentiment.
And now, I am vicariously passing this little thought on to my son, who only wants to go back to his apartment, which he shares with his sister and make these cookies. Oh, the plans of mice and men….

After giving him the ingredient list, I said, well, that’s just what’s in it!  You don’t have the recipe.  He asked me to facebook it.  So here it is.
IMG_0151

Since this is a bit messy, here’s a better version:

(and please, if you love chocolate and peanut butter but have no will power,please, please, for the love of God, do not make these)

Uncooked Chocolate Cookies / Mountain Bars / No Bakes / Boom Cookies / Whateveryouwanttocallthem

4 Tbsp baking cocoa

2 C sugar

1 cube butter

1/2 C milk

1/2 C peanut butter

1 Tsp vanilla

3 C oats

Bring butter, sugar and milk to a boil.  Boil 1 minute.  (if you double or triple the batch, like I do, boil 1/2 minute longer per batch)

Add cocoa, whisk until smooth.

While this mixture is boiling, put the oats, peanut butter, and vanilla in a large bowl.

poor chocolate mixture over and stir until well combined.

Drop on wax paper by the spoonfull

Let cool until set.

If you don’t boil these long enough they are mushy.

If you boil them too long they are crumbly.

But if you boil them just right, they will be just right.

Just sayin’.

 

3 thoughts on “BOOM!

  1. Yep, still have my book too… it looks the same way! lol…
    Staci has taken over the making of these much more often then I do now, but still a family favorite, and the only ones I’ve ever made A LOT!
    I also have a picture of us getting our badges on our vests at the school…and some kind of ceremony, so am wondering if we were graduating into Camp Fire girls…?

    Ahhh memories… 😀

Leave a Reply

