I WON THE LOTTERY!!!!

Seriously, this never happens to me!

After hitting ‘Publish’ on my last post I poured myself a glass of wine, and got in the bath tub and tried to cry. Not for any reason, only because I thought I’d feel better if I did. Or maybe I thought I’d feel worse and give me an even better excuse to feel all Bah-Humbuggy.

Anyway, I couldn’t make myself cry. My sweet husband was in the garage working hard, filling orders for wine barrel works, and I was trying to have a good old fashioned pity party, without success, so I shaved my legs. And my arm pits, and not that anyone needs to know this, but I think I’ve set a PR for length of time between shaving my legs. And my pits. Sorry, just keeping in real.

ANNNNYwaaay…I was feeling sorry for myself when I remembered the sweetest phone call I received on Saturday. I received a phone call from a friend…we’ll call Martha. (this is not her real name) She asked me what day all of the Atkins were converging on my house for Christmas. I told her Christmas Eve, why? She said, (and I quote), (except for the name she used), “because ‘Mary’ and I want to come over and help you clean your house for your party.” I was stunned. I asked why on earth they would want to spend the morning of Christmas Eve cleaning someone else’s house and she said, (and I paraphrase) “because you have a big FREAKING house and you work full time and are never home!” We both laughed, I felt a little funny accepting this amazing offer, and she said we would make it fun, listen to LOUD Christmas music and drink mimosas!

She had me at mimosas.

So, here’s the thing. I can be grumpy, and feel like the grinch, and act even worse, but as friends go, mine are the best. And I feel like I won the lottery, and I didn’t even buy a ticket.

so…Let’s Do Christmas!

One thought on “I WON THE LOTTERY!!!!

  1. Dear Linda… YOU are a wonderful woman. Enjoy your Christmas cleaning, your mimosas, and all the LOVE that is in your life. XO

Leave a Reply

