Be Careful What You Say

So, this whole post-a-day thing has me blogging in a completely different way.  I have several drafts started, so that I won’t forget my ideas as they come to me.  And yesterday I made a statement in my post about phone apps, that part 2 would be the next day, “unless something exciting happens today”.

Well, something happened yesterday that kind of turned our world upside down.  Rick was terminated from his job.  There are many things I could say about this, but for the sake of integrity and reputation, I will refrain.  The details are not really all that important, the nuances and dysfunctions, probably typical.  We’ve been through something similiar before, although far more painful, dark, and earth shattering.  Rick’s career is a good career and something  he is good at, but at the end of the day, it really is just a job, and he can make a go of it out on his own eventually, or for someone else, if that is what he decides he wants and what God leads him to do.  Whatever happens I support him 110%.

There was a job once that Rick had that we both loved.  It was in ministry at a church we loved and believed in, and when you are in full time ministry, your job is your life.  It is your circle of friends, your place of worship, your home away from home, your family.  And when you are asked to step down, when it is unexpected and you don’t see it coming you feel as if God Himself has fired you.  And some people bounce back from that and move directly to another ministry, and sometimes I wish with all my heart we were one of those people.  But we are not.

So all THAT to say, THIS was not nearly as traumatic to us as THAT.  And, I think I was just trying to say, that even though where Rick works will change, those we call friend and brother and sister will not change. Our world maybe have turned upside down today, but in time, it will be made right.

Of course there is the worry about what we shall eat and what we shall drink and what we shall wear.  And what steps we need to take to ensure we make it from point A to point b.  And actually, now that I’m trying to list all the worries in my head, there are plenty of them lining up to take their turn keeping me awake tonight.

But I think what I want to say, and as I told my future Daughter-in-law tonight, truly, this is not me trying to be strong, trying to put up a brave front, but really and truly I think God has placed His peace in my heart.

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  Phil. 4:7
IMG_4823.jpg
“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?
IMG_0699

“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.
IMG_6477

Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.  If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith?
May 2010 012

So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.
IMG_3661.jpg

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

20100410_caleb's bday and tulips_0058 copy

Yesterday when I wrote that little line about posting part 2 tomorrow as long as nothing too exciting happens today, I remember a slight shake of my head and a half curl of my upper lip and the fleeting thought that ‘it’s Monday, nothing exciting will happen on a Monday’.

Don’t be so sure, and just be careful what you say.

2 thoughts on “Be Careful What You Say

  1. I have started this comment several times. I even went and commented on all the other blog posts and still I do not have words so instead I am sharing Tom’s reaction. I am the firey, fly off the handle, say (or write) things in haste and regret later kind of person. Yes I am that person that pushes send on emails waaaay before I should. But not Tom. He is calm, doesn’t get fired up, doesn’t take things personally, sees the good in people kind of person. When I told him what happened last night he was so upset for Rick and furious that this happened to him. This show of emotion and feeling for his friend was more meaningful then the dozens of things I was going to shoot off in an email. I to am upset for you guys but also know you will be fine. You will be fine because you are amazing and wonderful people who have huge hearts and souls.
    Love Bliss

  2. praying for you guys Linda and I am so proud of you and your faith in our God that He will see you through! When I read your blogs I see how you are always so aware of Gods blessings in your life…they jump off every page! Be confident of this that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus!!
    love you guys!

Leave a Reply

