Is It Better Like This? … Or Like This?

On a walk along the waterfront last weekend I came upon this tree adorned with random Christmas ornaments.  I thought it was cute, and quaint, and unexpected.  Beyond these little trinkets the bay was calm and many boats were out enjoying a bit of the winter sunshine.  The last vestiges of Christmas holding on with all their might, reminding me of  the season of hope, joy and peace we’d just come through.
Here is a before and after. Straight out of the camera, before editing, and after I brightened and saturated the color in photoshop:

The edited photo might be a little bit over sharpened, but really? Is there any question which one is better?
I used to pride myself on not editing my photos. I wasn’t being smug, or thinking more of myself than I should have, I just truly liked them straight out of the camera better. Now that I’ve learned some about editing photos, though, I just can’t help myself. I love the process of editing and love seeing the colors come alive.

I can think of some spiritual analogies here, stuff like, “if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come”

and  “And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed
into his likeness with ever-increasing glory …”

….actually lots of stuff about what God does for us when we come to Him. But I know how how many weeks I’ll have to put up with my sons making fun of me if I go there, so I’ll just leave it at that, and ask,

Which is better? The flat , drab, colorless photo? Or the brighter, sharper, richer one?

Which would you rather be?

Er…I mean, HAVE?

Leave a Reply

