Herons: For Patty

This weekend on Facebook, my highschool friend and fellow flautist (I actually had to google the word to make sure I spell it correctly), Patty Borgelt-Green asked me if I take requests for photos and said she would love to see pictures of Blue Herons. Ironically, I am IN LOVE (that’s being shouted, here, on my end, with enthusiasm) with these birds!!

A couple years ago when Rick and I were out on a run/walk, he was running, I was walking with my camera, we met up down at the bay, it happened to be low tide, and there were 12-15 of them standing around out there in the surf…

IMG_6147a
They had arrived for brunch, got to chatting and stayed for tea-time, being so close to Canada and High Tea, and all.

IMG_6145a
Oh, they gossiped and snipped, they strutted about, they thumbed their noses…

IMG_6141a
You’d think they thought they were peacocks the way they paraded about and bragged on themselves!

IMG_6132
Huge birds, were they, but graceful as ballerinas. Simply deciding to lift into air and POOF! One would be gone.

IMG_6176
The Smith’s tried to keep up with the Jones’s…

IMG_6174
…the Jones’s did likewise…

IMG_6163

They preened, admired, compared…

IMG_6161

They came for Brunch…

 

IMG_6182

…and stayed for tea.

 

Leave a Reply

