Perfect Weekend

This has been the perfect weekend.  Well, aside from it being winter and we’re not in Hawaii.  THAT would be a perfect weekend.

I got up yesterday morning and with my first cup of coffee sat down to write my blog post, and the power went out. Poof. Just like that. So, what did I do? I crawled back in bed.

Then I got up and made bacon and omelets for Rick and I, and crawled back in bed to eat. Then I curled up in a ball and pulled the covers over my head and closed my eyes and listened to the wind.  And the rest of my day pretty much went like this until I made myself leave the house and go to the gym with Rick.

Today’s not looking too much different so far.  Except tonight we are having dinner with all our kids, an event I very much look forward to.

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for Friday’s blog post. Please, let’s all just disregard the whole thing, shall we? We were at our friends’ house, having fun, laughing, and I knew we would be out late, so I just snapped a couple pics with my phone and sent them off to wordpress.com and wrote a couple smarty-pants lines to go with them. So, I am sorry. Canadian beer is just fine. I’m sure. I didn’t actually drink any of it. It smelled much too hoppy for my tastes, but John was going on and on about an old movie called Canadian Bacon and quoting the lines about Canadian Beer Sucks….and it was all very silly but it did end up on my blog, and well, like I said, we’ll move on now.

I wanted to post a couple pictures I took on Wednesday in Centralia inside the antique stores.
IMG_0035
I’m pretty sure Laura Ingalls Wilder wore these at one time. Or maybe her cousin.

IMG_0033
My mom had one of these. It’s an exact replica of a hope chest, and back in the day, like probably around 1952, when you bought your high school graduate her hope chest, this little mini-chest came with it, and they were used for jewelry and such. I liked that someone wrote her name in this one.  It makes me want to know her story.   Was she born in 1952 or did she graduate from highschool in 1952?  Or was that the year she got married?  Maybe her Grandmother wore those lace up boots!

IMG_0030

IMG_0032
My Dad had one of these when I was a kid. I couldn’t figure out what to do with it then, and Ken and I still couldn’t figure this one out either!

Back to the Olympic Club. If you go there and you use the restroom, don’t be alarmed. You aren’t seeing double, or triple, or quadruple. There really are this many faucets in the ladie’s room. And some of them even work.
IMG_0020

IMG_0017a

So, with visions of yesteryear dancing in our heads, I wish you a wonderful restful Sunday afternoon.

Why do we say yesterday and yesteryear, but not yestermonth or yesterweek?

One thought on “Perfect Weekend

  1. I am proud of the fact that the perfect weekend for me involves hardly leaving bed, lots of good food and good books and maybe a movie thrown in for good measure.
    These photos remind me of how much I love LOVE LOVE your photography. You capture something that is hard to even define.

Leave a Reply

