Beauty Secrets

I’ve been wanting to disentangle myself from our culture’s standards of beauty, from buying the lie of physical beauty, or rather from the importance of physical beauty. And maybe not even from the importance of physical beauty, but from the ‘cost’ of beauty that we, American women have been so brainwashed into believing we absolutely must share in.

Almost a year ago I had run out of my favorite facial moisturizer, Clinique Drastically Different Moisturizer, and just dreaded going to Macy’s and spending the money to buy another bottle. It works wonders and lasts a long time, ‘for the price’, but still, Rick and I were on a mission to start cutting our costs in every area. A woman I work with told me that her mother and grandmother, in Italy, use olive oil on their skin and suggested I try that if I didn’t want to go spend money on facial moisture cream.

I did it. I tried it. And I loved it.

A few weeks later Abbie gave me her sample bottle of Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizer that came with her Gift With Purchase (another commercial ploy I refuse to succomb to again) and I used it once and hated how my face felt, as I’d become so used to the olive oil.

Olive Oil? What do I mean by Olive Oil on my skin? I mean, I go to the grocery store and buy a bottle of Extra Virgin Olive Oil, pour about a dime’s size worth into the palm of my hand and put it on my face after washing. Then I put on my makeup. Ehem. Babysteps.

So, lately I’ve been reading some information that my friend Cutzi has posted about going shampoo free. I’ll admit, it feaks me out a little.

But I want to try it. But I work full-time. Don’t look at me that way, like that has nothing to do with it! I have to look somewhat like I care what I look like at work. So, the olive oil worked out great, I can’t imagine EVER going back to moisturizer on my face, but NO SHAMPOO?? Yikes. I don’t know.

Here’s a link Cutzi shared on facebook this week:
No Poo

So, I’m thinking about it. Just thinking about it. No commitment yet.

Maybe Rick and I need to take a 2 week vacation and go camping in Eastern Washington to try it.

Or to Italy.

One thought on “Beauty Secrets

  1. hmmm I love the idea of using olive oil. I might have to try it. I don’t know how in the world I would do no shampoo though. yes I am addicted. but the olive oil I will give that a try.

Leave a Reply

