My 49th Birthday

Do you have a person in your life who would drop everything, even leave church, if you sent a text saying you needed her? Or Him? I do. In fact, I have no doubt I have many people like this in my life.

Here’s what happened.

When we woke up this morning I saw the sun was shining. Rick said “happy birthday, my temp is still 101”. I contemplated my options. I could stay home and keep him company with a martyr’s attitude (and I don’t mean the good kind), or I could take off and find something to do.

I chose the latter.

All the while I was getting myself ready and driving toward town I kept telling myself what great time this would be. One of my favorite things to do is spend an entire day alone with my camera and just wander, I reminded myself. However, just past Geneva I was aware of tears on my cheeks and sobs being stifled. I really didn’t want to spend my birthday alone. Again, I had two choices; suck it up and go it alone, or reach out and find someone to join me.

I chose the latter.

I sent a text to my sister-in-law, Laura
Me: are you at church today?
Laura: Yes. Happy Birthday!!!
Me: Dang. I was hoping you could meet me for breakfast.
Laura: When and Where?
Me: Right now.
Laura: Where?
Me: The place next to Tony’s in Fairhaven.
Laura: I’ll be there in 15 minutes?
Me: YES!! You’ve saved me from a major pity party!

We had the loveliest time. We talked and talked and talked. We wandered a bit after, poked around a little flower shop on the corner…Such a lovely thing, to have someone who would drop everything to spend time with you on your birthday.
IMG_0010

IMG_0009

IMG_0005

My Abbie joined me for the next couple hours. We walked along the boardwalk on the bay, poked around shops, and talked and talked.
IMG_0024

IMG_0041

Then it was Josh and his Abby, they called me and asked if I’d meet them and take photos of them.
IMG_0094

IMG_0231

IMG_0072

And After a lovely time of appetizers and wine at Hanna’s, a girl’s only party, Caleb came home and chatted. I got to see all my kids, although not at the zoo, and not a family dinner. It was different, but not disappointing and not sad.

IMG_0419

IMG_0417

IMG_0438

IMG_0439

IMG_0445

When I came home and read all the birthday messages left for me on my facebook I was completely humbled and grateful for all the amazing and wonderful people in my life. God has blessed me beyond anything I deserve.

This morning my Dad wrote on my facebook that it was a warm Spring day on the day I was born. And I thought what a wonderful feeling that someone in the world would remember the day a person was born. I don’t know why that meant so much to me, but it did. It does.

Happy Birthday to me, and thank you to each person that was a part of it!

4 thoughts on “My 49th Birthday

  1. Aww… sounds like a wonderful day! Reading it brought tears to my eyes.

    On a very side note – I think I need to get to know Hanna… that girl’s got great style!

  2. Glad you had a good day! I guess it was a sort of surprise party šŸ™‚ I really, really like the pictures. Josh and Abby with the bikes, Abbie and her dog, and tell Hanna I LOVE the empty frames wall!

  3. Belated happy birthday. Mine was the day before and I had a particularly self satisfying day. Saw some of the family, a few friends and generally just laid back. Enjoy the rest of this wonderful year as I will enjoy my year – I love all the photos. Please continue to share them with us.

Leave a Reply

