Princess Of Quite-A-Lot

sc02d32668
(published with permission)
When Abbie was little, about 3 years old she got hold of a pair of scissors and cut her hair off. For a long time after that she would wear a little turtleneck or a pair of stretchy pants over her head and pretend it was her long hair. If she wore pants on her head she would even put bows at the ends of the legs to look like pigtails or braids. She would wear these get-ups everywhere! To the store, to the park, to her cousins’ houses…I drew the line, though when she wanted to go to church like that. Looking back, I wish I’d let her. It wouldn’t make a whit of difference now!

2
Twenty-Two years ago today my life changed forever.

camp
With Caleb,

sc012c904203
and Josh.

abbie.1
With her Grandpa Tate.

sc0139cbe501
Sleeping in!

abbie3
Right after Abbie’s babtism.  Her Dad baptised her in Lake Whatcom,

 

Abbie and Staci, K’Lynn’s daughter

abstac

sc013a11af02

On our missions trip, Abbie held the baby of the family we built a house for…she held that baby for DAYS!
sc013a11af01

abb4

sc0129149601

Abbie and her cousin, Lynsey on a yearly camp trip

 

sc0139cbe502

sc012bc19801
modeling a birthday present from Grandma and Grandpa Atkins

sc012ae0e103

Dear Abbie, Please don’t hate me:

Dancing Queen:

sc013a4eb001

sc013a4eb0

Abbie and Staci, my oldest friend’s daughter:
sc012f0fae02

IMG_8301
Abbie and Megan

IMG_054801

IMG_5762-lovely

IMG_8305

A love note I found from years and years ago:
sc012dc76a
Abbie has always been so expressive with her love. It was never a surprise to find a sweet love note to either Rick or I on our pillows after an evening out, or under our door in the mornings. Abbie has a huge heart full of love that absolutlely MUST be expressed. I love this about her.

I always get a little emotional around Abbie’s birthday. Always so many things I want to say, to express about this person Rick and I were blessed with as our daughter. I’m sure there are other mothers who think their daughter is the most wonderful, beautiful, loving, talented; the smartest, most thoughtful, kindest, and dearest daughter in the world. But they are wrong. Because mine is all of those things and more.

sc012f436b02
This picture is a perfect example of what my Abbie is like. She is bigger than life, full of fun, 100% enthusiasm in everything she does, and gives herself totally and completely to every person she loves. And I adore her.

Happy Birthday to my Beautiful Girl.

4 thoughts on “Princess Of Quite-A-Lot

  1. I love everything you post, but I love most when you post about your kids and about Nora and how much you love them. It makes me not feel so sad about my kids growing up and makes me look forward to being the mama of big people someday.

Leave a Reply

