What a Weekend!

Last night Rick and I hosted a little party for my work department. We woke up early, 6:30 and got going. We smoked a 15 pound brisket (leftovers, yay), (and by ‘we’, I mean ‘he’), made these to die for cupcakes, and this , my first key lime pie which was A-Maz-Ing, if I do say so myself. The only thing is, as food photography goes, I suck. I started out taking pics of the work in progess,
IMG_0004
Lime zest…

IMG_0006
…I didn’t think about how to get the juice out of the key limes before starting. My little glass citrus juicer was not adequate for those tiny little fruits. But my garlic press turned out to be perfect. My hands thanked me after thinking of it. This morning they asked me why on earth I hadn’t thought of it sooner!

IMG_0008
Seriously, this is One Great Photo! One handedly shot an egg yolk in the shell with a DSLR. Totally shows off my food photography prowess. Well, at least my thumbnail looks decent.

IMG_0009
Mmmmmmmmmmmm…..

Ok, here’s the FAIL part. That was the last picture I took of the whole day. No finished Key Lime Pie. No guests. No drinks. No Rick-in-action. No phtotos of the dishes our guests brought…

The pie looked just like Pioneer Woman’s. And tasted so so yummy. I will be making it again very soon since I have enough key limes to make 4 more pies! (although they are quite nice in a G&T, so they won’t go to waste!)

This morning I woke up at 6:30 to the sound of Rick surfing the internet next to me in bed. I made us coffee and then spent the next 6 hours playing a word game against Rick on our phones. No, I’m not kidding. We stayed in bed until 1:30 net-suring and playing Words With Friends. It was lazy and irresponsible of us, but I won best of 7 games. Ahem. Bowing. Thank you, thank you…stop, you’re embarrassing me!

It was a throw back to our pre-children days when we would play backgammon all morning.

Ok, so the rest of the afternoon, and yes we did finally get up and put ourselves together and go to town, we ran errands, delivering the extra cupcakes to our kids and hitting Costco, along with half the population of British Columbia, and then….THEN????

Rick bought me this:
IMG_0010
My very own Molcejete!!! We stopped at the Mexican Market and stepped out of the states for a few minutes and into a small Mexican village and left with a tool that will allow me to make the best guacamole and salsa I’ve ever made!

IMG_0011
Yes, that is a G&T and key lime in the background.

And now we are eating chips and guacamole and catching up on American Idol which we no longer watch live because Rick gets up at 4:30 a.m. and I’ve been getting up with him, thus being awake at 6:30 on Saturday and Sunday mornings and calling it sleeping in.

I said to Rick at 7:00 this morning, “you realize we are turning into Cheryl and Hal, right?” (that’s my sis and brother in law who get up earlier than any human ever should).

What a great weekend! Thank you Honey for all your work to make our party last night fun and yummy, and thank you for my Molcejete! You’ll be so glad you bought it!

3 thoughts on “What a Weekend!

  1. I’m just laughing! It does sound like you’re turning into us. But get up at 4:15 am during the week and sleep in until 5:00 am on the weekends!

Leave a Reply

