Insomnia

It’s a little after 7:00 p.m., Rick has been falling asleep on the couch for an hour, and I’m ready for bed myself.

Why? You ask?

I’ve been awake since 2:00 a.m. with my life-long nemesis, Insomnia. There are several things keeping me awake at night this week, some I can share, others I cannot. Yet. So please don’t ask about those.

What I can share:
One of my dogs, Sweet Maggie, has not been feeling well. We aren’t sure what’s wrong with her, but her Doc has ruled out hypo-thyroidism, among other things. She does have an infection which we are treating, but there seems to be something else going on as well.

Maggie can be a little stinker, but she is the sweetest most loyal little dog in the world. She has appointed herself my guardian. I can’t drive away from my house if she is outside, as she will follow my car, probably until her little legs give out. If I am at home, Rick or Josh or Caleb or Abbie can drive away and she will not leave. She will sit and stare at me for hours, anticipating my next move, ready to jump up and follow. Or lead, more like it. She sometimes forgets who is the owner. So, Maggie being sick, possibly seriously, has me sad. And if I wake up in the night I think about it. And then I can’t get back to sleep.

Tomorrow my sister is going in for surgery. As she put it on facebook, tomorrow the surgeon “will pull my stomach out of my chest”. I was with her a couple months ago on a shopping day when she got the call from her surgeon that 80% of her stomach was in her chest. We were both appalled and shocked!
I am excited for Cheryl to feel better, but after what we went through, after what our Mom went through 3 years ago, we are both leery of a procedure like this. If you think of it, please pray for her tomorrow. It will be a long day.

Today Cheryl posted this on facebook:
Click Here

Things like this make my sister happy, and thoughtful, and she shares them with people around her. I love the things she shares with me and I can’t wait for tomorrow to be behind us.

There. Now some of what’s been on my mind is out there, and maybe I can sleep tonight.

4 thoughts on “Insomnia

  1. Looks like you’re already in the know about gluten-free stuff. Does your dog eat GF as well? Many people don’t realize that their pets should be eating GF and grain free. Brands like Natural Balance and Wellness are great for pets.

    1. I have not thought of this. We had to switch what we feed our dogs a couple years ago from premium human grade food to a lesser grade food due to economics…I am going to look into this. Thank you!

  2. I don’t know what else that troubles you right now, but just those two alone are enough! My little dog Chase (only 7 years old) had to have first one eye removed a year ago and then six months later the other had to be removed. Like Maggie, Chase is my right hand man. He’s getting around really well with the exception of the stairs. Recently I thought I would force him to climb by refusing to carry him up the stairs and all I did was make him so anxious that he would wet or soil on the floor almost immediately after I disappeared! It took my dog trainer to enlighten me as to what was happening! Poor guy! Anyway, feelings about pets can be just as strong as our bonds with people. I’m sorry you are having to deal with concerns for both Maggie and your sister. Hoping exhaustion will take over and give you a respite tonight — thoughts and prayers with you and your sister. ~ hugs

  3. So sorry that Maggie is not feeling good. Those little furry friends wrap themselves into our hearts so hard. Hoping she gets better soon. Thinking of your sister and praying her surgery goes smoothly and her recovery is quick. Hoping for peace for you and your thoughts. You have been in my thoughts a lot lately, even though we haven’t been able to connect in person.
    love you
    Bliss

Leave a Reply

