Happy Birthday Cheryl!

Today is my big sister’s birthday.
Image018.jpg

There are 5 years between Cheryl and I.
Image021.jpg

Growing up, 5 years is a huge span for girls.
Image036.jpg

When I was 5 and not even in kindergarten, she was entering 5th grade.
Image042.jpg

When I was entering 5th grade, she was studying her driver’s manuel.
Tate706-R1-E002-2.jpg

When I was studying my driver’s manuel, she was a 20 year old adult embarking on her own life, apart from Mom and Dad and little brothers and sister.
TateCD7-R1-E049 (909 x 614).jpg

When I was 20, she was 25.
Image057.jpg

And suddenly,
TateCD7-R1-E064 (909 x 614)-2.jpg

Without any warning at all,
Image050.jpg

We were peers.

Image053.jpg

And we stood in each others’ weddings,
Image051.jpg

We had babies close to each other,
Image030.jpg

We made road trips together,
Image038.jpg

What started as a big girl with a little sister,
CKL

morphed
L4

into two women with a shared past
mom13.jpg

forming a friendship that transcends age differences,
38260217.jpg

and geography
sc04868dc1.jpg

0610-1.jpg

(the two of us last May with Grandma)

and can only be described as….Sisters.
Image056.jpg
I love this photo.  All five of us kids in one room. With a 13 year age span, not an easy feat. Ronnie and Ken are looking at the camera. Tim is probably just trying so hard to be patient for the cake, Cheryl’s gaze is in transition, and I am obviously watching my big sister, watching for my cue, as I always remember doing as a little girl.

I adored you then, Cheryl, and I adore you now.

Happy Birthday.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Cheryl!

Leave a Reply

