Bloggers

Introducing: a couple new, and new to me, blogs to check out:

My Uncle Jack, Dad’s brother, started a new blog Clipper Ship Log a couple weeks ago. He is still fine tuning, but I’ve already learned things I didn’t know, like my uncle is a poet, he watches birds, and he worked for the US Geological Survey about a hundred years ago. Just kidding, Uncle!! Only about 55 years ago or so. Give or take a decade.

Another blog I’ve started following by Stephanie Stout Staley. Stephanie was in our youth group in Brush Prairie Washington when we away to Bellingham 19 years ago. She is an amazingly talented young woman who describes herself as a “full-time wife and mom and part time English Professor”. WHAT!?? A girl in my youth group is an English Professor!? That’s just not possible because that would make her XX years old and then that means…oh yeah. That’s right, I’m 49 and usually ok with it. Until I run across a young girl I once know who has remained 18 years old in my mind all this time, only to find out she has three kids and is a college professor! Sheesh. Slow down! Actually, Steph, you look exactly like I remember, only better. Just beautiful.

When I joined the ‘Post a Day 2011’ project that WordPress rolled out last December I started reading several bloggers who had also joined. One of the two or three that I added to my Google Reader is Judith Baxter. A woman who lives in New Zealand, who is a wonderful writer, and deep thinker. She works with Grief Counseling and lives a life rich in relationships and wisdom in her golden years. (I hope that was okay to say, Judith). Judith comments often on my blog and I always look forward to what she has to say on hers. Someday I hope to go to NZ and meet her face to face!

This is another one I added to my Google Reader: It’s Not All About Me, How Quickly I Forget. He writes mostly about leadership and management, but also some family and spiritual lessons as well. I love his writing style and always feel inspired to be a better leader when reading him.

I’ve tried to get my Dad to start a blog, but so far, it’s a no go. He has too much on his plate with taking care of Mom and going to school. Dad is a wonderful writer and a life-long learner. Maybe someday I’ll talk him into it and when I do, I’ll link to it here! (Just a little plug for you Dad!)

2 thoughts on “Bloggers

  1. Linda thank you for those lovely things you said. I hope I can live up to them.
    And please do come to New Zealand so we can meet up. I occasionally get to the US but usually only to California where my sister lives. But hey – who knows I may win the lottery and then I can meet up with all my blogging friends.
    Thanks again.
    Judith

  2. Hi Linda – Chava Wiebe (Osborn) here….a blast from Cornwall past! I don’t know if you remember me, but I have been following your blog and loving it (Karen Dolan shared it with me) I enjoy your writing style and would love to be as savy as you in navigating around the “blogging world”. I am just getting started in, what I consider, this “techie” world and have started my own blog. I don’t know how to get folks directed to it, other than sending personal e-mails saying “hey, check out my blog”. If you’re interested, I have posted two so far and they are at chavawiebe.com. The first one is on the bottom (which I don’t know if I like). If you have tid bits of info you’d like to share with a blossoming writer, I would love to hear from you. My e-mail address is wiebechava@yahoo.com. And, again, thank you for your blogs, they are appreciated! Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

