Unimaginable

I started my day reading one of my favorite bloggers, Miz Booshay who wrote this morning of all the things that are making her happy. It was such a sweet uplifting blog post and a sweet uplifting way to start my day.

Then I was made aware of the tornado that touched down in Joplin Missouri yesterday, and I was filled with sadness. And then filled with shame for all my whining about our extreme weather here in the Pacific Northwest. Our extreme mild weather where we sometimes worry about floods, mild ones, if you live in the low lands, and once in a great while we worry about ice and snow, like that we might miss school and work for a day or two, but nothing compares to the images and video footage I saw on the news today, and I’m so sad for those people.

And I just tried to imagine scenes like that here,
tried to picture my house leveled,
my cars crumpled,
all the reams of paper and records at my workplace flying 30 or 60 miles away,
tried to picture digging my dogs out of the rubble, or my neighbors,
tried to imagine calling all my kids to make sure they are ok, and maybe not reaching them for hours, and…and guess what.

I can’t.
I just can’t imagine.

I thought of these words written by Steven Curtis Chapman after suffering a different unimaginable tragedy:
(I realize these words were written after some time passed, perhaps, but the hope is there…)

BEAUTY WILL RISE
It was the day the world went wrong
I screamed til my voice was gone
And watched through the tears as everything
came crashing down
Slowly panic turns to pain
As we awake to what remains
and sift through the ashes that are left
behind

But buried deep beneath
All our broken dreams
we have this hope:

Out of these ashes… beauty will rise
and we will dance among the ruins
We will see Him with our own eyes
Out of these ashes… beauty will rise
For we know, joy is coming in the morning…
in the morning, beauty will rise

So take another breath for now,
and let the tears come washing down,
and if you can’t believe I will believe
for you.

Cuz I have seen
the signs of spring!
Just watch and see:

Out of these ashes… beauty will rise
and we will dance among the ruins
We will see Him with our own eyes
Out of these ashes… beauty will rise
For we know, joy is coming in the morning…
in the morning…

I can hear it in the distance
and it’s not too far away.

3 thoughts on “Unimaginable

  1. It is beyond my imagination. I feel so bad for these people. The only silver lining if you can even call it that is the amazing resilience and willingness to help a neighbor of the people in that area. I lived 1 hour East of Joplin for 5 months and the people in that part of the state are amazing how they help their neighbors and even complete strangers. Those qualities are sure to be tested but I am thankful that they have that to fall back on.

  2. As a web site owner I think the material here is really magnificent. I appreciate it for your time. You must maintain it and keep it up forever! Excellent work.
    My site is about [url=http://www.thehealthydietplan.net]Weight loss diet plan[/url].

Leave a Reply

