Favorite Kind of Friday

Friday night of a weekend with no plans.  My favorite kind.

Here’s what our weekend looks like:

A:  In My Perfect World:

1.  Sleep in til 8 or 9.

2.  Rick (who’s been up since 6 or 7 cleaning, reading, doing laundry, contemplating life, menu planning, setting {spiritual, financial, and grandparenting} goals), brings me coffee and gently wakes me and invites me to join him on the sun-drenched deck where I slowly wake up listening to the birds and enjoy bacon and eggs and my second cup of coffee.

3.  Camera in  hand, I venture out on a hike where I get close up shots of eagles, coyote pups, and a distant shot of a cougar, which doesn’t turn out because he/she was too far away, but at least I got the thrill of seeing one.  I enter the eagle and coyote pups in a photography contest.  (which, later, I am notified I win first place, $5000 at BHphoto.com)

4.  I’d rather edit photos, but since it is 80 degrees and not a cloud in sight, I spend the afternoon on the deck reading and dozing.

5.  In the evening we grab sushi and wine and head to Boulevard Park to hear The Atlantics (I tried to link to their website, but they don’t seem to have one) (oh, and the part about wine? It’s actually illegal in Bellingham parks, so we’ll just have *water* in our Nalgene bottles…in case anyone asks)

6. Since the heat is stifling, we put the air mattress on the deck and sleep under the stars, drifting off while chatting about our day and planning for Sunday.

In the Real World:

1. Rick wakes up at 3:00 a.m. and can’t get back to sleep because his left hand and arm are throbbing and keeping him awake. He stays in bed and tries to stay quiet so as not to wake me up too early.

2. I wake up at 5:00 a.m. to the sound of Rick playing Words with Friends on his phone. Apparently it’s my turn. I can’t go back to sleep.

3. I get up and make coffee and bring two cups to bed where we stay for the next 6 hours playing words with friends because it’s pouring rain and there’s really nothing to do in this weather. (my weather app on my phone says 60% chance of rain most of tomorrow.

4. I start researching a DIY lightbox, build one, dart outside, cut flowers from my flowerbed, bring them in and play with my camera in my new lightbox.

5. Around 3:00 in the afternoon Rick and I are both sleeping to Season 2, Disc 4 of Madmen.

6. update Facebook status at 5:30, “Is it raining in town like it’s raining in the valley? Should we even bother going to BLVD Park to hear the Atlantics who don’t even have their own website?”

7. Get 21 responses to stay home and stay dry.

8. Watch Madmen season 2, disc 4, fall asleep on the couch, and wake up at midnight to drag our sorry arses to bed.

4 thoughts on “Favorite Kind of Friday

    1. You sweet girl. Took me a few minutes to figure out who you are, but I know you. And you just blessed my heart beyond any words I could say. Thank you.

  1. Oh yeah, Stark is a titch different than Erickson- should have tipped you off. 🙂 I don’t know where I ever came across your blog, maybe through Cutzi’s? At any rate, I look forward to your posts every single day. You are a very gifted writer with such a great sense of humor. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

