Blogging Decisions

Once again I’ve thought about moving my blog back to blogspot. There are a couple reasons I keep thinking about it:

I’ve used up all my image space on wordpress and you have to pay to get more space. This bugs me. However, I already upload everything to flickr for safe keeping, and c/p the url here, so what’s the difference?

I also think it would be handy to upload video directly to my blog rather than first upload to Vimeo or Youtube, but again, you have to pay for this. $59 per year. Yikes. Then again, I have a free vimeo account and youtube is free as well, and it takes 2 seconds to c/p the url here, so what’s the difference?

Knowing a teensy bit of coding, sometimes I think it would be nice and fun to customize my template, but guess what. You have to pay extra to be able to do that. I don’t have an answer to this one. If someone reading this does have an answer, let me know.

So today while Rick and I were running an errand I googled ‘compare blogspot and wordpress’ and found this very helpful blog post. Very helpful, and yet I’m not convinced one way or the other, so for now I’ll stick with wordpress. I followed the links to this other very helpful blog post from WordPress which inspired me to play around with slide dot com where I had actually already made a couple slide shows about 3 years ago.

I’d forgotten all about slide.com. Very happy to be reminded.Playing around a little (and I mean LITTLE, it only took about 5 minutes, if that), I imported my whole June 2011 album from Flickr and made this:
(if you already follow my blog you’ve seen a lot of these, so don’t feel pressured to watch it, unless like me, you just can’t get enough of my photos)

Before giving up on WordPress, I think I’ll try out some of the features that I hadn’t bothered with until now.

One shouldn’t rush the big decisions in life.

One thought on “Blogging Decisions

  1. I do a couple of blogs in blogspot and I still like WordPress better, but maybe that is just because I haven’t figured out how to customize things on blogspot? I don’t know, still feel that photo’s look better in WordPress then Blogspot…

Leave a comment