Seasons

Tonight I was taking a bath because even though it’s July my house is freezing and I needed a bath in order to be warm enough to fall asleep and I was reading blogs on my Android phone. Pioneer Woman’s blog post today was about how hot it is in Oklahoma (where the wind comes sweeping down the plain), about the work of cattle ranching and how much they are looking forward to fall and I realized…

I’m not complaining about our crummy wet cold gray summer. I’m mourning the love of fall. You know how when we have a good hot summer, the kind that makes kids and sometimes parents and grandparents sleep outside on the deck, and everyone finds the closest creek or pond or lake to cool off in? Remember that? And remember then how WONDERFUL it felt when you noticed that tinge of crisp in the air that meant it was almost fall, almost time for the heat to subside and cool mornings and evenings to breath in?

I just want to love fall this year, but I have a sad feeling it will feel the same as it has since about April 13th.

But, I’m not complaining.

One thought on “Seasons

  1. I hear ya, sister. Jason told me I should be grateful no one is dieing from our weather, and even though I wanted to say “actually, this weather is killing me!”, I refrained because he’s right. Still. October will come and it’ll feel just like it did today. Boo.

Leave a Reply

