…I Shall Wear Purple

IMG_5731

Last night I did something completely outside my character. I’m not exactly a risk taker, I don’t like roller coasters, I don’t like water slides. After the wedding Rick had just officiated, my friend Heather challenged another woman and myself to run out to the dock with her and take our nice dresses off, kick off our shoes, and jump in the lake. My first response was ABSOLUTELY not! I don’t jump in water period. Clothed or not clothed! It has to be over 100 degrees before I’ll get in water. And I do NOT strip out of a dress at a wedding, outdoors, in front of God and EVERYone! And especially at a wedding where I am being viewed as the Preacher’s Wife! So, NO. Forget it.

I was however, curious, and reluctantly decided to walk out and down the steps and onto the dock just to watch Heather and Emily. It was completely dark, the lights from the tents on the lawn made it even darker out there on the lake and most of the wedding guests had gone home. Heather and Emily urged me on and shouted to JUST DO IT. Next thing I know, I’m muttering to myself, “I’m almost 50, for crying out loud”, but found myself stripping down to nothing and jumping in the lake safely climbing down the ladder into the lake. The three of us hollered and screamed and splashed and swam and floated and laughed and laughed and laughed.

Don’t ask me why I’m posting this story here on my blog. It’s really a story better kept secret.

I know I’ll never hear the end of it.

My kids will be DYING of embarrassment after reading…

…Oh…wait…

Perfect.

5 thoughts on “…I Shall Wear Purple

  1. Oh Linda I am so pleased that you did this. Did it feel liberating and wonderful? And what was Rick’s reaction? I am sure he thought it funny! 🙂

    1. Yes Judith, it was liberating. And hilarious! After getting my dress back on and joining the men in the lawn, Rick said “I can’t believe you did that-I’m so proud of you!”

Leave a Reply

