Ten Years Ago Yesterday

Ten years ago yesterday in a Free Association Game I would have said Beirut, Iraq, Middle East to words like Terrorism, Terrorist Bomb, Terror Plot.

My answers in the same game would change the next morning. Until then, never in a million years would I have said New York City, World Trade Center, Twin Towers.

Our alarm had gone off, Kafe 104.3 came on the radio and we heard the first reporting of the first plane hitting the WTC. In disbelief we hurried to the family room and turned on the TV watched the news coverage as it was unfolding. My brain went into overdrive, I could not figure out how they were doing a replay right behind the reporter while he was still talking. Then he yelled, “Oh my God” and my mind raced to catch up with what was happening, that we were witnessing the second plane hitting the towers on live television.

But before that, before that day we now call 9/11, on the 10th of September, when our kids were 16, 14, and 12, and we could drive a friend to the airport and walk them to the terminal and sit and wait with them, and wave goodbye to their plane as it pulled away from the gate, and we hadn’t heard of Homeland Security, or TSA friskings, and a smile and a nod could get you into Canada and back…

…if you had said terrorism, I would have thought something far far away. And it had nothing whatsoever to do with me.

One thought on “Ten Years Ago Yesterday

  1. I still get chills thinking about that day and how I thought the radio station was playing a big joke. Then I remember turning on the tv and realizing this was no joke and our world had changed forever.

Leave a Reply

