Clear As Mud?

So many birthdays this month! I won’t bore you with all of them, but after I posted about Grandma last night my Dad reminded me that Grandpa’s was the day before. I’d forgotten. Or I never remembered. I’m not sure which. And today is my nephew Andrew’s birthday, Hannah’s is this month as is her brother Jeremy’s, scads of facebook friends are lined up…I don’t know where they come from but there are TONS of babies born in October! You’d think if you counted back 9 months you’d see a pattern of…oh wait…um…nevermind, I think I get it.

Ok, enough. If you think that paragraph was confusing wait til you read about this handsome young man.

This is Caleb.

Not my Caleb.

Actually, yes, he is my Caleb. Just not my Caleb that you know about. This Caleb is my godson. He is 6 months older than my real Caleb. Wait, no he’s real too.

He’s 6 months older than my other Caleb, my first Caleb, although I knew him first, you know, through his first 6 months, so is he the first Caleb? I sometimes refer to him as Caleb2, but technically, he’s Caleb1. Although Caleb1 had the name first (in vitro), really technically he’s still Caleb2. Right?

…Like I was saying, he’s 6 months older. But his parents stole our boy name. I know. Right? Confusing. So, his mother and I were both expecting. They couldn’t settle on a boy name. They heard ours, liked it, had their boy first, and used it. We kept it too, so all of our mutual friends thought we stole it.
But we didn’t.
They did.

I googled ‘godson’ (mostly to see if it should be capitalized) (it shouldn’t) and got this:

god·son ˈgɑ:dˌsʌn/ noun
plural god·sons
[count] : a male godchild

Hardly helpful or inspiring.

But all confusion and kidding aside, today is Caleb Benjamin Adelstein’s birthday. This has been a huge year for him, one of change and challenge, growth, and a new start.

For Caleb Adelstein on your birthday:

From Psalm 1

1 Blessed is the one
who does not walk in step with the wicked
or stand in the way that sinners take
or sit in the company of mockers,
2 but whose delight is in the law of the LORD,
and who meditates on his law day and night.
3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
whatever they do prospers.

Happy Birthday Caleb1

Caleb2

Caleb A.

Caleb, my godson.

One thought on “Clear As Mud?

Leave a Reply

