Joshua Amos Atkins

When Josh was born he was all Tate from the start. He has taken after my Dad and Grandpa and even a couple of my uncles in ways that amaze me, because except for my Dad, he has spent so little time around them. Growing up he looked more like my brother Ken then Ken’s kids did.
sc012d45a303

sc012ae0e1

sc0129149602

josh3
sc0129149603

sc01399c4603

sc000389a1

sc0128f16c03

sc0087fede

sc0087965902

sc00805d9603

Between ages 3 and 5 we lived in a parsonage in Brush Prairie Washington. Josh’s favorite time of day back then was nap time. Abbie was a year old and went down easily, Caleb was getting old enough he didn’t take naps, so he had to have his quiet time in his room and read books and play with toys. Josh and I would snuggle down and take our nap and he would ask me for his favorite stories while he fell asleep. One favorite was his birth story. He loved to hear how he’d come late in the evening and I was so tired, but I didn’t want to forget a moment of his life and wouldn’t let the nurses take him from me, so I kept him in bed with me and kissed his little head for hours. He like me to mimic the baby sounds he made and the way he moved his arms and legs and the scrunchy little faces babies make. He would ask me to tell it over and over. Maybe hearing this is embarrassing to him now, a grown man. But at the time his sweet little heart just loved to hear that story. I don’t know if he remembers that time in our life in that parsonage, but it was a time rich in love and memory building, and I think he loved that time after lunch each day because he got me all to himself. As the middle child, that might have been the only time he had me to himself!

sc00816ddb

Fast foward…
sc012c0a6502

sc0129d1d3

sc012cd1fc01

sc0139cbe504

sc012dde6402

sc012fb62b02

sc012e35f201

sc01399c46

017_15.JPG

IMG_0200.JPG

IMG_0015

IMG_0076
IMG_8309

1

PB211170

109

IMG_0318

IMG_0085

IMG_0066

IMG_0213

Josh has always been so interested.  Interested in how things work, why they work, why they don’t.  He’s artistic, creative, exploring, talented and completely engaged in life.

IMG_1086

IMG_3548

IMG_3466

IMG_3854

IMG_6264

IMG_6184

IMG_7524

IMG_8720

IMG_8735

IMG_8771

IMG_9622

IMG_9640

I feel like I say this every year, and every year I mean it more than the last time I said it.  I cannot imagine our lives without this boy.  I can’t imagine our family if he weren’t here. 

Last year I wrote a a birthday post and mentioned that a year from then (now) he’d be celebrating with his bride. And of course we now know…and his baby girl!

Josh has taken to parenting like he has everything else in life:  as a student.  He thrives on learning, whether it’s about a place he is traveling, an instrument he’s learning, a painting medium, an extreme sport, or a baby he his raising, he studies it as an art.

And he becomes great at it.

Happy Birthday Josh Amos!  I’m celebrating the night you were born.

6 thoughts on “Joshua Amos Atkins

  1. Our kids are a treasure thats for sure. I’m happy for Josh and that you guys loved him even when he didn’t seem too lovely.

    1. Yes, Bill, like you (or your daughter) like to say, “Grandchildren are our reward for not killing our own children!” It’s still a favorite of mine.

  2. You are leaving such an incredible legacy for your children & their children Linda! Just think about years from now when your grandchildren & great grandchildren read your tender, loving & funny posts from the past. Just beautiful!

    1. I really haven’t thought of it this way, T. Thanks for putting it like this. Now that I think about it, I do wish I had more of my Mom documented, whether here, or a journal, or more pictures…Even if I drive my kids nuts right now, maybe someday they’ll be glad I do this.

Leave a Reply

