Friends and Motivation

I woke up this morning at 5:15 and debated working out. I even said to myself, ‘you won’t regret it if you do, but you will regret it if you don’t’. My phone signaled me I had facebook message. It was from the friend I wrote about the other night who had a heart attack last Friday. It said this:

“LA, I read you blog. I want to encourage you to be selfish enough to leave work at Interfaith. I know you know that stress can kill you as easily as a clogged LAD. Stop worrying about what the heck is happening at work. Please DON’T neglect yourself or you won’t be any good to anyone. Health and mental well-being first. Please please please take care of yourself. The work will always be there, Neglecting yourself doesn’t make things better at the office. I say this as a friend.”

I hesitated not one more moment. I jumped out of bed and did the KenpoX workout. I also built in some accountability for myself and texted my friend Cindy to go for a walk today. She showed up at my office a little after 12:00. Just getting out and breathing the fresh air and seeing the sunshine boosted me!

Then tonight cindy posted this video on facebook. It’s just under 10 minutes but SO great. I think we should all start our day watching this every morning! I’m posting it for my friend Nicole. (The good part is after the introduction)

Thanks, Nic for motivating me to get out of bed and move, and Thanks Cindy for showing up and getting me out of the office.
Muah!

One thought on “Friends and Motivation

  1. Lin, typically I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, but this year I promised myself to be selfish, by means of taking care of me (in particular, physically), so good for you for getting up at 5:15! Although I have to say, I couldn’t face Tony at that time of the day…he and I have a date every night about 7!

Leave a Reply

