Cares

I’ve been putting off writing about this, hoping for a resolution. It’s always easier to write about something after the fact, when it’s all done and everyone is well and life has gotten back to normal. And I think probably, if I just wait a couple more days, that’s the blog post I would be writing. But a couple family members alluded to a family emergency on facebook which has flooded my text message inbox with questions and concerns and for the sake of time I think I’ll just answer those here in one place.

Most of you know that my Dad has been caretaker for my Mom for the last 3 1/2 years. He has done a marvelous job and is a good example of ‘in sickness and in health’ and we have all relied heavily on him as our patriarch
IMG_8589

IMG_1909.JPG
IMG_1293.JPG

IMG_3098

I don’t really want to go into all the details, because really, we don’t have any answers, but Dad is sick and in the hospital. We don’t know exactly what is wrong yet, but today he went through a battery of tests (I’ve always wanted to say ‘battery of tests’), and hopefully this weekend those tests will start to give us some answers.
IMG_7285

IMG_7167

IMG_4377

So now it’s time to care for the caretaker. Rick and I are leaving early tomorrow morning and going straight to the hospital, a drive of about 9 hours.
IMG_5989

IMG_5882

IMG_4046

IMG_0971

IMG_8594

If you follow my blog even just a little, or know me at all, you know that I adore my father. We are very close and are in contact with each other almost daily through phone, text, and email.
DSC_7150a
I am praying that Dad will improve, heal, and return 100% to the life he loves. There are machines to be fixed, cords of wood to be stacked, classes to take, books to be read, babies to be held and loved and read to, friends, old and new to converse with, and brides to be danced with…

If you think of it, could you please pray too?

3 thoughts on “Cares

  1. So sorry, Linda, to hear about your father. May you get answers soon that will restore his health and have him “kicking his heels” again. Hugs and prayers

Leave a Reply

