Overwhelmed With Gratitude

My birthday party on Saturday evening was wonderful. I took my camera and even pulled off a few shots myself, but mostly it was passed around at my request. I’ve thought and thought about how to write about the evening, and though it already feels overdue, I’ll try to express my gratitude.

Rick worked for weeks planning, and then 3 days of cooking and finalizing details.
IMG_2966

The kids pitched in as well with decor and desserts, set up and take down. Caleb brewed beer and several people brought salads to go with Rick’s bbq ribs, brisket, and chicken.
IMG_3061

IMG_2967
Rick had a trivia game from the 60’s, mainly my birth year, 1962, and the prize was a Slinky.

Did you know that Decca Records rejected the Beatles for a contract in 1962? Talk about regrets!

IMG_2968

Some of my favorite people were there.
IMG_2975

IMG_2961

IMG_2980

IMG_3057

There were toasts
IMG_3004

IMG_3006

IMG_3009

IMG_3019

IMG_3022

IMG_3026

IMG_3036

IMG_3015

A couple tears
IMG_3032

Lost of laughter
IMG_2999

IMG_3008

IMG_2994

and a friendly competition over who is my best friend
IMG_3044

IMG_3045

IMG_3046

Really, ladies, stop fighting! There’s plenty of me to go around!

Seriously, though, I was completely honored and blessed by the evening and the loving toasts and funny stories people told. I looked around the room more than once and was easily reminded how blessed I am and how rich my life is because I have people I love and who love me back. I have friends I can call on for help, and who call on me for help. As I unwind from the weekend and look back at photos and remember the words of our guests I am filled with gratitude and love for my husband who worked so hard to honor me.

Rick asked for no gifts, but if someone had planned to give me something, to give toward a new lens for my camera. I’m shocked and surprised by the gifts, and am so happy and excited to report that my new lens is ordered and will arrive on Friday!

7 thoughts on “Overwhelmed With Gratitude

Leave a Reply

