Fly Me To The Moon

So last night after our family dinner in which we celebrated our rich Mexican heritage (ahem), Rick and I joined Josh and Abby and a few of their friends for a hike up Galbraith Mountain to see and photograph the Super Moon.

First, let me say I knew nothing about the Super Moon until Friday evening when my sis texted me and asked if I was going to be able to get pictures of it. A quick google search, a chat with Rick, and we had a plan.

We met up with the kids at the trailhead.
IMG_4080

IMG_4076

IMG_4070

IMG_4062

IMG_4061

IMG_4087

…and we headed out on our hike.
IMG_4120

IMG_4122

IMG_4123

IMG_4129

The scenery was incredible.
IMG_4136

The sunset was breathtaking.
IMG_4147

The look on everyone’s face was pure enjoyment.
IMG_4111

IMG_4110

IMG_4109

Bellingham suddenly looked very very small.
IMG_4140

We settled in and waited.
IMG_4156

IMG_4161

Did I mention the sunset?
IMG_4165

Josh…
IMG_4166

…and I…in silhouette.
IMG_4170
(ok, mine was staged, I admit)

The City Lights…
IMG_4181

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for…

The moon, only not just the moon, but the SUPER moon!

Wait for it…

Here it is…
IMG_4188

Yup. That was it. That’s all I got. It was disappointing.

But not at all a waste. It was a fun adventure. Coming back down at 10:30 in the dark was an adventure in itself.

There will be other moons to shoot, of that I am sure.

5 thoughts on “Fly Me To The Moon

  1. Moons are very hard to photograph! It was too cloudy here to catch the moon rising, but I did get to see a lovely full moon midway through the sky. And of course it looked like a tiny dot in my camera’s view finder. Some moons are just meant to be treasured in our memories, I guess!

  2. You were disappointed with your photo of the moon but we got to see the joy and happiness on the faces of your family Linda. Thanks for sharing.

  3. hi linda- i love the shots of the trees on your hike, pretty light!
    i saw your daughter in law and granddaughter at the library yesterday. felt awkward to say hi since i only know her from the blog, but gosh, little evelyn is SO cute!

Leave a Reply

