Guacamole

Today just felt like the perfect day to make guacamole. Rick picked up the avocados for me. If you’ve been to my house in the last year or so, chances are you’ve tasted this. My friend Cutzi and her friend Tessa showed first introduced me to this and I make it all the time. Here’s how:

First, I roast the veggies. Tessa doesn’t do this, but Cutzi’s advice has proven true; I find it easier to pound if I soften the Serrano chilis, onions, and garlic first. I just throw them in a cast iron skillet and move them around with a wooden spoon.
IMG_4438

IMG_4441
Once the Serrano and garlic are seared and even popped, I throw in the onions and stir around until softened.

While the veggies are roasting, throw a pinch of kosher salt in a Molcajete along with a bunch of fresh cilantro.
IMG_4442

IMG_4444

Be sure to keep your eye on the Serrano and garlic. I got a little caught up in taking pictures and our smoke detector went off. Ooops.
IMG_4447

My cilantro and salt is a perfect fragrant green paste!
IMG_4449

I threw in the garlic next while the onions and serrano continuted to roast.
IMG_4450

And then the serranos…
IMG_4452

Keep grinding the ingredients into a paste…
IMG_4453

…then the onions. I add a pinch of salt with each addition. It helps grind the slippery chiles and onions.
IMG_4459

And now the main event!
Avacados
IMG_4460

As I grind the mixtured I keep pulling from the outside where the yummy dark green serrano and cilantro and garlic paste lives.
IMG_4461

Mmmmmmmmmm
IMG_4468
So good. Some people put tomatoes in. I haven’t used them yet.

And if you’re lucky enough to be home when I make this, and you happen to be sitting outside in the hammock reading a book while your baby is napping, I just might bring you a plate of chips and guacamole.
IMG_4473

MmmmmmHmmmmmm
IMG_4472

One thought on “Guacamole

Leave a Reply

