Fly Me To The Moon

So last night after our family dinner in which we celebrated our rich Mexican heritage (ahem), Rick and I joined Josh and Abby and a few of their friends for a hike up Galbraith Mountain to see and photograph the Super Moon.

First, let me say I knew nothing about the Super Moon until Friday evening when my sis texted me and asked if I was going to be able to get pictures of it. A quick google search, a chat with Rick, and we had a plan.

We met up with the kids at the trailhead.
IMG_4080

IMG_4076

IMG_4070

IMG_4062

IMG_4061

IMG_4087

…and we headed out on our hike.
IMG_4120

IMG_4122

IMG_4123

IMG_4129

The scenery was incredible.
IMG_4136

The sunset was breathtaking.
IMG_4147

The look on everyone’s face was pure enjoyment.
IMG_4111

IMG_4110

IMG_4109

Bellingham suddenly looked very very small.
IMG_4140

We settled in and waited.
IMG_4156

IMG_4161

Did I mention the sunset?
IMG_4165

Josh…
IMG_4166

…and I…in silhouette.
IMG_4170
(ok, mine was staged, I admit)

The City Lights…
IMG_4181

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for…

The moon, only not just the moon, but the SUPER moon!

Wait for it…

Here it is…
IMG_4188

Yup. That was it. That’s all I got. It was disappointing.

But not at all a waste. It was a fun adventure. Coming back down at 10:30 in the dark was an adventure in itself.

There will be other moons to shoot, of that I am sure.

Butterfly Surprise

Yesterday I snapped a few pictures of my bleeding heart through the dining room window. It was raining off and on and I didn’t want to risk getting my camera wet.
IMG_3939

IMG_3962

But it wasn’t until today when I put them on my computer that I noticed the little yellow butterfly to the right.
IMG_3956

And I thought how fitting.

Because today is my sister’s birthday and we always seem to notice these butterflies when we are together!

Happy Birthday Cher.